A Guide to the 1994 Group

This is a guide to the 1994 Group of universities which consists of 11 “smaller” world class research-intensive universities from across the UK and was founded in 1994 (surprise surprise!). The 11 members share a commitment to world class research and teaching. In comparison with the universities in the Russell Group (that was founded in the same year), the 1994 Group members are smaller institutions.

The group describes itself as “internationally recognised universities in Britain, who share common aims, standards and values”. They promote excellence in research and teaching through research publications and through the media. All of this is in the purpose of representing the views of its members on the current and future state of higher education to the government and funding bodies. The 1994 Group believe that their members’ smaller student populations offer a more personalised learning with a close-knit academic community. Does this sound like your sort of university environment? Read on to learn more about the 1994 Group…


Research is at the heart of what it is to be a university.

Studying at a research intensive university makes for an excellent academic experience.

Key facts

11 universities

All members in top 2% of institutions worldwide

88% graduate satisfaction rate

Birkbeck is the oldest university in the group (founded in 1823)

University members

All the members of the 1994 Group are world renowned research institutions. Here is a list of the 11 members:


University of East Anglia

University of Essex


Institute of Education

Royal Holloway

Lancaster University

University of Leicester

Loughborough University

School of Oriental and African Studies

University of Sussex

If you would like to find out any more information about any of our universities, they can be found on our handy full institution list.